Updated twice daily11am & 6pm · UK timeLast checked
37 stories · 2 on the map
Explore the city
Loading map…
Select a numbered pin to preview its story. Wider-area updates appear in the story list.
Drag to explore · Use + / − to zoom. Pins mark public places or labelled approximate areas.
Latest updates
37 stories
Travel
Brighton and Hove rail journeys - coastal and connecting routes; no single incident pin
In story list only
Southern update 24 October, 17:53 - disruption expected until end of day
Southern advises allowing at least 60 extra minutes because multiple weather-related incidents are disrupting its network. The tree obstruction at Angmering has cleared, but Brighton-Littlehampton/Barnham services remain delayed. Trains are running slowly at Lewes because of pooling water and at Hampden Park because of a branch. A tree blocks Chichester-Havant services. The operator lists ticket acceptance on selected Stagecoach services and Brighton & Hove routes 2 and 46; check its current details and journey planner before travelling.
Reported 23 October - Planning Committee 28 October, 13:00; not approved
Brighton and Hove News reports plans to adapt a former print shop on Portland Road into a cafe and wellness centre, including an electric sauna, new seating and a pergola. Officers recommend approval, with draft conditions limiting sauna and cold-plunge hours to 08:00-21:00. Councillors are due to consider the application at Hove Town Hall on 28 October. This is a proposal, with no opening date confirmed.
Brighton and Hove rail journeys - network-wide timetable notice
In story list only
Clock change at 02:00 on Sunday 25 October - Southern notice checked 24 October
Southern says trains starting before the clock change, up to 01:59 on Sunday, continue on British Summer Time for their whole journey. Clocks go back one hour at 02:00. Journey planners reflect the change, so check the displayed times carefully if joining an overnight train after 02:00. This is especially relevant to late Saturday journeys into Sunday.
West Pier ruins, Brighton seafront - offshore structure; no access pin
In story list only
Reported 23 October - partial collapse
Brighton and Hove News and ITV Meridian report that part of the surviving West Pier structure fell into the sea during Storm Austen on Friday. ITV published footage credited to Simon Haffenden. The reports describe a partial collapse, not the loss of the entire remaining ruin. No detailed assessment of the extent of damage is given.
Brighton Marina - temporary bus terminus; no incident pin
In story list only
Updated operator notice 24 October, 08:03 - still listed this evening
Brighton & Hove Buses says a road blockage means services terminate and restart at The Waterfront outside Malmaison Hotel, missing Brighton Marina and Marina Cinema. Its 24 October notice lists 1X, 7, 21, 23, 47 and 52; the continuing 23 October notice also lists N7. No end time is given. Check the current notice for your route before travelling.
Brighton & Hove - citywide roads and pavements programme
In story list only
Council announcement 23 October - funding already included in annual plan
The council says the Department for Transport has unlocked just over £1.4 million for resurfacing, pothole repairs and pavement improvements. The award was already included in this year’s maintenance plan, so it is not an additional programme on top of the published budget. The council links the funding to its highways work and transparency report; individual work locations and timings remain subject to the maintenance programme.
East Brighton - Crew Club pilot and future regional programme
In story list only
NHS update 23 October, 14:27 - next phase planned for November
NHS Surrey and Sussex reports encouraging findings from a small health-and-employment support pilot, including work through East Brighton’s Crew Club. Participants reported improved confidence and wellbeing, but short follow-up and small numbers limit conclusions about lasting effects. The NHS says a broader Surrey and Sussex phase is scheduled to start in November 2026. This is an evaluation and future-service announcement; local referral arrangements are not provided in the update.
Old Steine, Brighton - diversion area; no single pin
In story list only
Operator notice checked 24 October evening - diversions and congestion changes through 27 October
Old Steine works now bring extra diversions. Routes 5B, 20, 21, 22, 24, 26 and 29 towards Imperial Arcade miss Old Steine, Royal Pavilion and North Street; use Valley Gardens, Imperial Arcade or Churchill Square. Station-bound 12/12X/14 divert off Queens Road and miss Clock Tower and North Road. Routes 25/25X/78 miss Old Steine 07:00-18:00 daily; use Valley Gardens. Coastal eastbound routes and 79 miss North Street; the operator lists North Road or Sealife Centre alternatives. Westbound 1/1X/7/2 miss Devonshire Place and Law Courts. Check the route-specific notice because alternatives differ by direction.
Princes Crescent, Brighton - public stop area; no pin
In story list only
Notice rechecked 23 October - operator lists 21 October onwards, no end time
The operator again lists both Princes Crescent stops as suspended during roadworks, affecting routes 20, 26, 46 and 79. Use Springfield Road or Bromley Road. No completion time is currently given; check the operator before travelling.
Brighton & Hove - five public locations; no single event pin
In story list only
Council announcement 23 October - 26-30 October, approximately 16:45-18:30
Council road-safety officers will offer advice and free items including temporary bike lights, reflective stickers and hi-vis rucksack covers. Sessions are at St Peter’s Church on Monday 26 October; Church Road near Grand Avenue, Hove, on Tuesday; Preston Park South on Wednesday; The Highway/Lewes Road junction on Thursday; and Aquarium junction near Madeira Drive on Friday. Each is planned for roughly 16:45-18:30.
Former sports and social club, 15-16 Lewes Road, Brighton - proposed public venue; no pin
In story list only
Reported 22 October - committee scheduled 28 October, 13:00; not approved
Brighton and Hove News reports that councillors are due to consider converting a former social club into a mosque with five bedrooms for occasional accommodation linked to its use. Officers recommend approval with conditions restricting service hours and preventing independent residential or holiday-let use of the bedrooms. The decision is scheduled for the Planning Committee on Wednesday 28 October; approval has not yet been granted.
Brighton & Hove - secondary-school admissions across the city
In story list only
Council announcement 22 October - amended arrangements due by 31 October
The council says the Schools Adjudicator has upheld extending sibling priority to pupils outside school catchments. Free-school-meal priority will apply to the targeted category, with the proportion of places tied to the city average from the autumn census rather than a fixed 30%. That proportion is not yet confirmed. The council is also reviewing waiting-list arrangements and says it will address the decision by 31 October. Families should check the council website for the final amended rules.
NHS Surrey and Sussex is encouraging young people who missed their school HPV vaccination to check their status. Its update says eligible young people can catch up through the school vaccination service while school-aged, or through their GP practice, until they turn 25. The campaign includes information sent to universities. Contact the appropriate NHS service to check your record, eligibility and booking arrangements.
Brighton and Hove News reports that councillors are due to consider replacing Oakley House with a five-storey building containing 20 council flats. The proposed mix is nine one-bedroom, eight two-bedroom and three three-bedroom homes. The Planning Committee is scheduled to meet at Hove Town Hall at 13:00 on Wednesday 28 October, with a webcast planned. This remains a proposal, not permission to demolish or build.
Brighton festival venues and Depot, Lewes - multiple venues; no single pin
In story list only
Programme announced 9 October - preview reported 21 October - festival 6-15 November
The 24th CINECITY Brighton Film Festival brings international films, previews and special screenings to venues including Duke of York’s, Duke’s at Komedia, ACCA and Fabrica, alongside Depot in Lewes. The organiser says tickets are on sale directly through venues. Browse the programme for individual dates, prices and access information; free printed programmes are also available at participating venues.
The council has launched an updated directory, interactive map and printable guide to local digital help. They bring together drop-ins, one-to-one support and digital-skills courses from community organisations. Residents can use them to find help with getting online or accessing online services. Information about free internet access points and help obtaining devices is planned for a later stage.
Richardson’s Yard, New England Street/New England Road — site area; no pin
In story list only
Reported 20 October · outline application BH2026/01773, not an approval
Brighton and Hove News reports an outline proposal for 66 flats in a 12-storey building at Richardson’s Yard, retaining space for the metal-recycling business. The developer describes the homes as affordable. Residents’ representatives have raised concerns about noise, height and the clarity of the proposed housing tenure. The scheme remains a planning application; search BH2026/01773 on the council register to review the documents.
Brighton Marina; proposed disposal site off Newhaven — no disposal-area pin
In story list only
Reported 20 October · application, not permission; consultation opening to be confirmed
Brighton and Hove News reports that Premier Marinas has submitted a third application, proposing disposal at the Newhaven site rather than pursuing its one-year Rottingdean proposal. The operator wants to resume maintenance dredging in spring 2027. The report says Sussex Wildlife Trust opposes increased disposal at Newhaven. A licence decision remains pending; the article links to the marine licensing register for consultation once it opens.
Council business update 20 October · weekdays 2 November–2 December at 11:00
The council’s business service is promoting free Small Business Saturday webinars covering marketing, time management, finance, digital tools and AI. Sessions run online at 11:00 each weekday from 2 November to 2 December. The announcement links to registration; choose the sessions relevant to your business and check individual booking details.
Withdean Park, Brighton — affected woodland area not precisely mapped
In story list only
Council announcement 14 October, rechecked 19 October · planned three-week programme from 19 October
The council plans to remove around 200 elm trees and one mature ash at Withdean Park after inspections found a significant outbreak of elm disease. The elms are concentrated in a small but prominent area. Work will include some neighbouring trees that appear healthy because infection can spread through connected roots. Much of the vegetation will remain, and the council will monitor the area after felling. The announcement does not specify a whole-park closure.
Land west of Hog Platt, Rottingdean — parcel not precisely mapped
In story list only
Parish notice first checked 19 October; original publication date not shown · discussions ongoing, no deadline stated
Rottingdean Parish Council says the city council has told it that land west of Hog Platt is being sold, but not for potential development. Initial discussions have taken place with the current tenant about buying it and continuing its use as pony paddocks. The parish says no deadline has been set and it will monitor the situation. This is an update on ongoing sale discussions, not a completed transfer or a planning approval.
Brighton Museum & Art Gallery, Royal Pavilion Gardens — public museum
In story list only
Official opening dates rechecked 24 October - included with museum admission
Brighton Museum is opening Making the Masked Singer and Magic Place on Saturday 24 October. The costume exhibition presents 24 costumes and seven character heads made by Sussex company Plunge Creations, and runs until 6 June 2027. Magic Place, by Genetic Moo, uses projections that respond to visitors’ movements. Both are included with Brighton Museum admission, with free entry for members; check the museum’s admission and opening details before visiting.
Surrenden Road, Greyhound Stadium, Hove Station and Court Farm Road - separate works; no single pin
In story list only
Surrenden Road and Greyhound Stadium restrictions start 24 October - official notices rechecked this morning
From 24-26 October, 5B/N5 towards Hangleton miss Varndean College, Surrenden Holt, Loder Road and St Mary’s Church; use Braybon Avenue Top or Beaconsfield Villas Top. Goldstone Villas works on 26-30 October suspend Hove Station southbound for 7/21 (use Eaton Gardens or George Street) and 3X towards Hangleton (use Livingstone Road). On 29-30 October university-bound 3X also uses Livingstone Road. From 26 October-2 November, 5B towards Hangleton misses Court Farm Road; use Nevill Way or St Peters Church. Check current route notices before travel. From 24-29 October, westbound 3X misses Greyhound Stadium; use Hove Park Tavern.
Brighton & Hove urban administrative area — proposed citywide coverage, including specified moored vessels
In story list only
Council notice dated 7 October · representations close 26 November 2026 · proposal checked 17 October
The council is inviting representations, including objections, on a proposed smoke-control order covering its whole urban administrative area, with specified exemptions and coverage of moored vessels in the marina or at wharfs. This is a proposal, not a new rule already in force. The order and map can be inspected through the council’s notice, at Brighton and Hove town halls and at council libraries. Written responses must reach the council by 26 November using the postal or email details in the notice.
Fourth Avenue to West Street — proposed seafront corridor; no single location pin
In story list only
Survey closes 25 October, 23:59 · 17 October drop-in has finished · official listings rechecked 17 October
The council’s survey on the Fourth Avenue–West Street seafront proposals remains open until 25 October and takes about 10–15 minutes. Plans include a separated two-way cycle lane, pavement and crossing improvements, loading bays and disabled parking. People can comment on either or both phases; completing the whole route would depend on further funding. The Saturday 17 October public drop-in near the Peace Statue has finished.
Royal Pavilion Gardens, Brighton — public garden restoration area
In story list only
Decision published 16 October; call-in deadline was 23 October - council lists 24 October effective date if not called in; checked 24 October
Cabinet approved a £1.6 million increase, taking the Royal Pavilion Gardens restoration budget to £8.038 million, and delegated appointment of a main contractor. The published decision retains a condition on approval of £500,000 from Historic England. The museum’s programme anticipates work beginning in November, and Brighton and Hove News reports that the council has given its backing. The decision remains subject to call-in; an exact start date or current closure is not announced.
Black Rock, Brighton — regeneration site; temporary uses not yet open
In story list only
Decision published 16 October; call-in deadline was 23 October - council lists 24 October effective date if not called in; checked 24 October
Cabinet approved a preferred bidder for temporary uses at Black Rock, subject to due diligence and agreement on commercial, legal and operational terms. The public report describes sport, fitness, food and wellbeing facilities, while a longer-term cultural destination remains an ambition. Any lease is limited to five years and must include removal of temporary infrastructure and restoration of the site unless otherwise agreed. The bidder’s identity is not disclosed in the public decision. No opening date is confirmed.
Portslade Aldridge Community Academy, Chalky Road — school-family update
In story list only
Principal’s letter 16 October - half term began 23 October; exam support after the break
PACA has reached its half-term break. Year 11 practice GCSE exams will take place during the first two weeks after the break, with morning revision sessions from 08:00 during those weeks. The school says families will receive the revision schedule and students will receive guidance for half-term preparation. Parents and carers should use the school’s letter and exam timetable for the arrangements affecting their child.
Portslade Sports Centre, Chalky Road, Mile Oak — public sports venue
In story list only
Previously listed for Monday 26 October, 10:00-12:00 - current availability could not be reconfirmed 24 October
Brighton & Hove Albion Foundation previously listed a free Portslade Mini tournament for ages 8-13 at Portslade Sports Centre on Monday 26 October, 10:00-12:00. The listing showed limited availability when checked on 19 October. Its position in the booking directory has changed and current availability could not be reconfirmed. Check with the organiser before making plans; this is not a cancellation notice.
High View Road eastbound bus stop — coastal services from Brighton and Saltdean
In story list only
Operator notice from 14 October onwards · no end time given · checked 19 October evening
Brighton & Hove Buses now lists High View Road as unavailable eastbound towards Peacehaven, Newhaven and Eastbourne because of roadworks. Routes 12, 14, 23, 76A, 494, N12 and N14 are affected. The current notice directs passengers to Broomfield Avenue or Telscombe Tye. Use the latest operator notice and check which alternative serves your route.
Western Road, Hove — approximate corridor reference
Operator update checked 21 October · works listed through 6 November
Brighton & Hove Buses says route 49 journeys normally ending at Palmeira Square now end at Imperial Arcade and restart at Churchill Square. Route 49 journeys to Portslade Station follow the diversion used by other routes. Route 1X still misses Churchill Square towards Mile Oak. Norfolk Square and Brunswick Place remain suspended both ways, with Palmeira Square or Waitrose alternatives; route 21’s Montpelier Road stop is also unavailable. Check your destination and live departures before travelling.
Beacon Hill Nature Reserve, Rottingdean — area-wide management proposals
In story list only
New parish update on the 5 October meeting checked 13 October; publication date not shown · fence groundworks paused
Rottingdean Parish Council’s new meeting summary says the city council has paused permanent-fence groundworks and confirmed that Beacon Hill will not be open-grazed this year while discussions continue. Sheep will still graze the reserve and be removed before the ground-nesting bird season. The parish had asked for electric fencing to continue while alternatives are assessed. The earlier public meeting was cancelled and no replacement date is announced.
Brighton & Hove — citywide council and housing-association tenancy consultation
In story list only
Survey 6 October–15 November, 23:59 · live consultation checked 11 October · proposals await approval
The council is seeking views on its draft Tenancy Strategy, including tenancy length, making good use of homes and helping residents keep their tenancies. Everyone can respond, including people who are not social-housing tenants. The anonymous survey takes about five to ten minutes and asks respondents to avoid personal information. A revised strategy will go to cabinet after consultation; these are proposals, not changes already in force.
Regency and Central Hove wards — ward-wide rental licensing scheme
In story list only
Council announcement 9 October, rechecked 19 October · planned 20 October introduction remains paused
The council has paused the planned 20 October introduction of selective licensing for private rented homes in Regency and Central Hove following a legal challenge. It says it needs time to review the next steps. Landlord engagement events connected with the launch are also postponed. The announcement gives no replacement launch date.
Oak Cottage, Ash Cottage and former pool, Warren Road, Woodingdean — proposed site
In story list only
Survey open 5 October–2 November, 23:59 · early proposals, subject to planning permission
The council’s live consultation now proposes around 40–45 homes at Oak Cottage, Ash Cottage and the former outdoor swimming pool, updating the earlier report of up to 42. The homes would be for people on the council’s housing register. The proposals include landscaping, access and parking changes, with the nursery planned to move to Beech Cottage. Residents can review the plans and complete the survey before designs are developed further; planning permission has not been granted.
Reduced hours · closure planned for 29 October · September notice rechecked 19 October
Downs Baptist Church says its Warren Road community greengrocer will close on Thursday 29 October after 29 years of trading. Its current notice lists Tuesday opening from 10:00–16:00 and Thursday from 09:00–13:00, plus most Mondays from 10:00–13:00 when volunteers are available. The church attributes the reduced service to a shortage of volunteers.
Wednesday 28 October, 18:30-20:30 - October timetable rechecked 22 October
The Trust for Developing Communities lists the next Woodingdean Youth Club evening at the youth centre on Wednesday 28 October, from 18:30 to 20:30. The 21 October session has finished. Use the organiser youth-activities page for joining information and any late changes.